Preakness Stakes 2018 - Triple Crown Betting

Home > Articles > Betting Lines > Preakness Stakes

Preakneess Stakes OddsThe Preakness Stakes is held every year in the middle of May and it is the second race in horse racing’s Triple Crown. The great thing about the Preakness is that it almost always has the excitement of a potential Triple Crown because almost never does a horse win the Kentucky Derby and then skip the Preakness. There is almost always hope for a Triple Crown heading into the Preakness. That will be the case again in 2018, as Justify will try and win the Preakness Stakes on May 19 at Pimlico Race Course.

2018 Preakness Stakes

Date: Saturday, May 19, 2018, 6:45 p.m. Eastern (NBC)

Track: Pimilico Race Course, Baltimore, MD

Race Distance: Mile and 3/16th

The Preakness is shorter than the Kentucky Derby and it will not have as many horses, as only 14 horses can race in the Preakness. Rarely does the Preakness have a full field, as the average amount of horses running is about 10. Some of the horses that ran in the Kentucky Derby will come back and run in the Preakness, including the Kentucky Derby winner. There will also be some new shooters who didn’t qualify for the Derby.

The Preakness is not a race for longshot bettors. There has never been a Preakness winner that had odds of more than 24-1. Master Derby won the Preakness at odds of just over 23-1 in 1975. The Preakness has been a race where the favored horse has done well through the years. 2018 Kentucky Derby winner Justify is expected to go off as the odds-on favorite to win the 2018 Preakness Stakes. He is trained by Hall of Fame trainer Bob Baffert who has won this race six times. Baffert has also previously had four Kentucky Derby winners who ran in the Preakness, Silver Charm (1997), Real Quiet (1998), War Emblem (2002) and American Pharoah (2015), and all four won the Preakness.

List of Preakness Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

Year Winner Jockey Trainer
2017 Cloud Computing Javier Castellano Chad Brown
2016 Exaggerator Kent Desormeaux Keith Desormeaux
2015 American Pharoah Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert
2014 California Chrome Victor Espinoza Art Sherman
2013 Oxbow Gary Stevens D. Wayne Lukas
2012 I'll Have Another Mario Gutierrez Doug O'Neill
2011 Shackleford Jesus Castanon Dale Romans
2010 Lookin At Lucky Martin Garcia Bob Baffert
2009 Rachel Alexandra Calvin Borel Steve Asmussen
2008 Big Brown Kent Desormeaux Richard Dutrow
2007 Curlin Robby Albarado Steve Asmussen
2006 Bernardini Javier Castellano Tom Albertrani
2005 Afleet Alex Jeremy Rose Timothy Ritchey
2004 Smarty Jones Stewart Elliott John Servis
2003 Funny Cide Jose Santos Barclay Tagg
2002 War Emblem Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert
2001 Point Given Gary Stevens Bob Baffert
2000 Red Bullet Jerry Bailey Joe Orseno

Most Jockey Preakness Wins

Jockey Wins Years Won
Eddie Arcaro 6 1941, 1948, 1950, 1951, 1955, 1957
Pat Day 5 1985, 1990, 1994, 1995, 1996
George Barbee 3 1873, 1876, 1883
Bill Hartack 3 1956, 1964, 1969
Lloyd Hughes 3 1875, 1879, 1880
Gary Stevens 3 1997, 2001, 2013
Victor Espinoza 3 2002, 2014, 2015
Kent Desormeaux 3 1998, 2002, 2016

The two current jockeys with the most wins are Victor Espinoza and Kent Desormeaux at three wins each. The all-time record for jockey wins is held by Eddie Arcaro at six.

Most Trainer Preakness Wins

Trainer Wins Years Won
R. Wyndham Walden 7 1875, 1878, 1879, 1880, 1881, 1882, 1888
D. Wayne Lukas 6 1980, 1985, 1994, 1995, 1999, 2013
Bob Baffert 6 1997, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2010, 2015
Thomas J. Healey 5 1901, 1922, 1923, 1926, 1929
Jim Fitzsimmons 4 1930, 1935, 1955, 1957
Jimmy Jones 4 1947, 1948, 1956, 1958

The all-time record for Preakness wins is seven held by R. Wyndham Walden, but two current trainers, D. Wayne Lukas and Bob Baffert are right behind with six wins.

BetCris offers play-by-play betting odds for live sporting events every day! The user-friendly wagering interface on your smartphone provides an easy way to place bets on the go. Mobile betting lines are updated by the minute, so click here to start gambling on thrilling live action at BetCris!

Check out our sports videos to get the latest news and game analysis, don't forget to like and subscribe.

If you like to bet on 2018 Preakness Stakes, We offer many easiest and safest ways to deposit and manage your sports betting account. Clients can deposit 24/7 online or over the phone. Betting on Horses and Enjoy the hottest experience from the comfort of your home or anywhere else with our state-of-the-art Mobile Betting Service.

Crear Cuenta


Volver Arriba